Recipe: Bakewell Sunset

Recipe, 19/03/2017


Bakewell Sunset


As those of you who came from my bookstagram account will know, I am a rep for the amazing Bluebird Tea Co. (and as I am a rep, I also have a lovely 20% discount code for you all – TBMTEABIRD21). They make the most delicious and versatile teas I’ve ever encountered and being a rep for them is actually a dream come true for me. As part of my position, I have to come up with my own recipe involving their tea and, I have to say, it took me some time and lot of trial and error to settle on what I’ve named the ‘Bakewell Sunset’. As you may have guessed from the name, this is a cocktail recipe (because alcohol > food). I’ve been drinking a lot of these recently (I mean it, I’ve demolished a bottle of amaretto) and I’m so excited to share something I’ve made and loved with you all!

The tea I chose for my cocktail is Bluebird Tea Co’s Cherry Bakewell which is, obviously, inspired by the Bakewell Tart and I may actually prefer it in tea form now. I don’t give exact measurements in my recipe because it all depends on the size of the glass and how strong you like it but I’ve given some rough ideas of how I prefer it, so without any further delay, here is the recipe for the (delicous) Bakewell Sunset!

Ingredients:

  • Cherry Bakewell tea
  • Sugar (optional)
  • Orange juice
  • Lemon juice
  • Amaretto
  • Ice cubes

Prep:

  • First thing is to strongly cold brew the tea, I have a bottle that can be purchased from Bluebird Tea Co which has a strainer built in but you can mimic it by just putting the tea leaves in a jug (just don’t forget to strain the leaves out!)
  • Put the tea leaves in cold water (add sugar as well to your tastes here if you wish) and leave in the fridge for a minimum of 12 hours, how long you leave it will determine the strength of the tea.


Method:

  • Get your tall drinking glass and first add the Amaretto, I put in around two fingers of it
  • Next is the orange juice, fill the glass to around quarter full
  • Add a dash of lemon juice
  • Top the glass up with the ice cubes
  • Finally, fill the rest of the available space with your cold brew Cherry Bakewell tea and give it a stir

And that is all there is to it! I wanted it to be a simple and relatively affordable cocktail, you can pick up a bottle of amaretto from Aldi for less than £5, so more people would be able to try it.

If you do try it then let me know what you think either in the comments or drop me a message on instagram!

Leave a Reply

